David Smith issues Statement

While most of us where busy celebrating the success of  the Jamaican athletes at the Olympics of 2008 held in Beijing China, David Smith was quietly issuing a statement dated August 16, 2008. In the Statement, David Smith attempted to shed some light on the current situation. According to the letter, an application has been filed with the Supreme Court of Turks and Caicos Islands seeking to “seeking the discharge of the restraint order which has prevented me from dealing with any of my assets, or my companies’ assets, in these Islands; as well as the return of the documents and computers which were seized from me by the Turks & Caicos Islands police.”

 There is no reference to the US $200 million wire, no reference to the US$ 735/750 million. There is no mention of the problem with frozen assets in the USA. There is reference to an audit but no reference to who  or which firm is responsible for doing it. Is it an internal audit? 

‘Pregnancy’ Period.

Later in the letter , the nine months promise resurfaces again. Given that David Smith cannot supposedly “trade”, When did this nine month period begin or is it to begin sometime in the future? Has the plan been conceived yet or is fertilization to occur soon?

For the full text of the article please see below.

STATEMENT BY DAVID SMITH IN CONSULTATION WITH HIS LEGAL TEAM

I have had consultations over the past few days with my Jamaican and Turks & Caicos attorneys-at-law. Lord Anthony Gifford QC, the leader of the team, was admitted to the Bar of Turks & Caicos Islands on 15th August 2008 for the purpose of representing me in the Court of Turks & Caicos Islands.

An application is being filed with the Supreme Court of Turks & Caicos Islands on 18th August 2008 by my local attorneys-at-law, seeking the discharge of the restraint order which has prevented me from dealing with any of my assets, or my companies’ assets, in these Islands; as well as the return of the documents and computers which were seized from me by the Turks & Caicos Islands police.

My attorneys-at-law advise me that this application will be heard in September 2008 and that they are confident of a positive outcome.

The freezing of my accounts and assets in the Turks & Caicos Islands has meant that I am prevented from either trading club members’ funds or from making repayments. The situation is on hold until the litigation commenced by the Attorney General of Turks & Caicos Islands has been resolved.

However we are using the time to proceed with the audit which was referred to by my attorneys-at-law in their statement of 18th July 2008. Auditors have been retained in order to produce accurate accounts of what is due to members, and what is due from members who have been overpaid. That process is now continuing.

I am still confident that the time scale outlined in the attorneys’ statement can be honoured. In that statement the attorneys said I was committed to fulfilling my obligations and making payments to members within nine months. That remains my commitment.
David Smith
16th August 2008

P.S. Now that the Olympics are over, you should see more postings. Congratulations to our athletes. We, Jamaicans, can certainly be the best at what we set our mind to be.  It is a pity that the UFO con-men have chosen the wrong path. You have to play by the rules.